More selected projects


July 29 – August 1, 2010 

Chinatown will play host to the second annual PERFORM! NOW! Festival. Upwards of 40 performances will take place inside and outside an array of Chinatown venues. The programming allows for appropriate focus, time, context and space for uninterrupted engagement with large audiences, and provides the best possible arena for each performance.

Expanding on the premise of the inaugural event, Perform! Now! will seek to further develop and explore the delicate relationship between performer, audience, and environment. Los Angeles’ historic Chinatown neighborhood harbors many unusual and exciting areas with limitless performance potential, that when paired with the wealth of talent included in this year’s roster, promises for an energizing and dynamic experience.

Participating artists include:

Skip Arnold, Elena Bajo, Math Bass, Micha Cardenas and Elle Mehrmand, Mariel Carranza, Marcus Civin, Dorit Cypis, Megan Daalder, Alexis Disselkoen, Zackary Drucker, Monica Duncan, Fundación Wanna Winni, Brian Getnick and Kristian van der Heyden, Liz Glynn and Corey Fogel, Brendan Fowler, Douglas Green, Matt Greene, Micol Hebron, Gustavo Herrera, Marc Horowitz, ing, Emily Lacy, Morrisa Maltz, Emily Mast / Jerome Bel, Yong Soon Min with Ofunne Obiamiwe, Tommy Gear, Gina Osterloh, Matias Viegener, Ian Song, Linda Kunik, Raksha Parekh, Paolo Villanueva, Stephen van Dyck, and Mike Davis, Lucas Murgida, Warren Neidich, Paul Pescador, Nancy Popp, Andrew Printer, Margie Schnibbe, Sister Mantos, Alex Staiger, Team Zatara, Julie Tolentino with Stosh Fila and Mark So, Tiffany Trenda, Treiops Treyfid, Vlatka Horvat, Jason Wallace Triefenbach, Samuel Vasquez, Mark Verabioff, Flora Wiegmann, Dorian Wood, Amy Granat, Jmy Leary and Joseph Tepperman.

Material Press Presents: The Oratorium featuring Farrah Karapetian, Jason Underhill, Susan Silton, Ellen Birrell, Ginny Cook, Dee Williams, Dan Hockenson, Daniel Lucas, Kim Schoen, Olivia Booth, and Wendy Mason.

Two days of sound performances curated by Volume feature Steve Roden, Jen Boyd, Julia Holter, Kadet Kuhne, Marc Manning, Adam Overton, Akira Rabelais, Shuttle358, Mark So, Sublamp, Mark Trayle, Justin Varis, and Sander Roscoe Wolff.

Actual Size Los Angeles hosts Haircuts and Popsicles, with popsicles by Josh Lee.

Participating venues Include:

Actual Size Los Angeles
The Box
The Company
François Ghebaly Gallery
Dan Graham
The Happy Lion
Human Resources
Charlie James Gallery
Jancar Gallery
Kunsthalle LA
Sabina Lee Gallery
Pepin Moore
Via Cafe

… and more…

With support from participating organization LA>

Organized by François Ghebaly, Marcus Civin, Dino Dinco and Danielle Firoozi.

PERFORM! NOW! Daily Schedule (subject to change)

7:00 pm – 11:00 pm, Perform! Now! Fundraiser, $20 suggested donation

Julie Tolentino and Stosh Fila, Marcus Civin, Warren Neidich, Emily Lacy

7:00 PM – 12:00 AM, Free all day

Douglas Green, Paul Pescador, Alexis Disselkoen, Nancy Popp, Team Zatara, Math Bass, Skip Arnold, Emily Mast and Jerome Bel, Alex Staiger and Superman, Morissa Maltz, Marcus Civin, Elena Bajo, Corey Fogel and Liz Glynn, ing, Warren Neidich, Tiffany Trenda, Matt Greene, Samuel Vasquez, Sister Mantos, Megan Daalder

12:00 PM – 12:00 AM, Free all day

Vlatka Horvat, Douglas Green, Monica Duncan, Marcus Civin, Dorian Wood and Joseph Tepperman, Dorit Cypis, Morrisa Maltz, Math Bass, Paul Pescador, Emily Mast and Jerome Bel, Micol Hebron, Material Press, Alexis Disselkoen, Nancy Popp, Margie Schnibbe, Team Zatara, Mariel Carranza, Zackary Drucker, Skip Arnold, Steve Roden, Megan Daalder, Andrew Printer, Flora Wegman, Mark Verbioff, Jason Wallace Triefenbach, Matt Greene, Yong Soon Min, Lucas Murgida, Warren Neidich, Elena Bajo, Brandon Fowler, Gustavo Herrera, Marc Horowitz, Actual Size Los Angeles hosts Haircuts and Popsicles

2:00 PM – 10:30 PM, Free all day

Volume featuring Jen Boyd, Julia Holter, Kadet Kuhne, Marc Manning, Adam Overton, Akira Rabelais, Shuttle358, Mark So, Sublamp, Mark Trayle, Justin Varis, and Sander Roscoe Wolff; Alex Staiger and Superman, Elle Mehrmand and Micha Cardenas, Julie Tolentino, Stosh Fila & Mark So, Fundacion Wanna Winni, Samuel Vasquez, Brian Getnick and Kristian van der Heyden


Image Credit: Sandy de Lissovoy & David Kelley